I am from Africa

15871837_1839676699637643_3529615942181855444_n

Yes, I am from Africa. To be more specific, I am from South Africa   “If you are from Africa, why are you white?”- Mean Girls Movie. I have been in Chicago more than a year now and still, people ask the same questions that leave me gobsmacked, lol. I will make use of this space to tell you guys a bit more about South Africa 🙂

“If you are from Africa, why are you white?”- Mean Girls Movie. I have been in Chicago more than a year now and still, people ask the same questions that leave me gobsmacked, lol. I will make use of this space to tell you guys a bit more about South Africa.

Yes, there are white people in South Africa.

Yes, I walk my lion every night before I go to bed….NOOOO I do not have a lion as a pet lol. Yes, we have cars and buildings.

No, I do not speak African, I speak Afrikaans….do you speak American?

No, I do not hunt my own food. Ugh

Yes, we do celebrate Christmas in South Africa

“Do you live in huts”…really? No, we do not

The truth is apart from the corrupt government, poverty and crime, South Africa is a wonderful place. Nature and food are amazing and so unique. Safaris to penguins to Cape Point and Ocean basket seafood platter.Nothing gets better than that. People constantly ask me to teach them my language

People constantly ask me to teach them my language soooo here you go…

Voetsek – to tell someone to go away Lekker – Cool and yummy Shame – to pity someone Awe – Hey or hello said with excitement

Lekker – Cool and yummy Shame – to pity someone Awe – Hey or hello said with excitement

Shame – to pity someone Awe – Hey or hello said with excitement

Awe – Hey or hello said with excitement

Befok- really good/crazy

Bekak – Lit. to shit on something, refers to to being very angry Ek

Ek kyk soos my gat – Lit. to look at stuff through your ass, refers to you not seeing something your are looking for.

Bokkie – Sweetheart

Bru – Brother

Braai – our from of BBQ Dikbek – Grumpy Doos – Lit. box, refers to twat, idiot, arsehole and can be said in a cruder way Eina – Ouch Fok – Fuck

Dikbek – Grumpy Doos – Lit. box, refers to twat, idiot, arsehole and can be said in a cruder way Eina – Ouch Fok – Fuck

Doos – Lit. box, refers to twat, idiot, arsehole and can be said in a cruder way Eina – Ouch Fok – Fuck

Eina – Ouch Fok – Fuck

Fok – Fuck

Fokvoort – proceed in a single-minded direction Fokweet – “fuck Knows” response to an unanswerable question Fokker -“fucker”

Fokweet – “fuck Knows” response to an unanswerable question Fokker -“fucker”

Fokker -“fucker”

Fokkol – “fuck all” refers to absolutely nothing Fokoff – “

Fokoff – “fuckoff” Gatkruip – “Arse creeper”, refers to someone liking arse to get what they want.

Gatkruip – “Arse creeper”, refers to someone liking arse to get what they want.

Hardegat – “hard arse”, refers stubborn Howzit/

Howzit/hoesit – How are you Moegoe – stupid person

Moegoe – stupid person Moer toe – destroyed

Moer strip – patience is thin

Moer meter – Patience level Now Now/ Nou Nou – Contrary to original meaning “NOW”, refers to “in due time” And there you go, now when you read my posts and you see these strange Saffa  (South African) world you will know what they mean :).

Now Now/ Nou Nou – Contrary to original meaning “NOW”, refers to “in due time”

And there you go, now when you read my posts and you see these strange Saffa  (South African) world you will know what they mean :).

Tata (bye bye)

Leave a Reply

